This beautiful old house, built in the early 1900’s, by the late Hedley Knight has been home to the Moreton’s Harbour Museum since 1983. It is operated and maintained by the Moreton’s Harbour Museum Committee, a small group of volunteers. The Museum consists of thematic rooms featuring a variety of artifacts, including the “Fishermen’s Room” which contains tools and equipment utilized during the inshore fishery and the “Jubilee Farm Room” which contains personal and agricultural implements from the local French Family Farm. A variety of domestic artifacts are also displayed including clothing, antique furniture from the late 1800’s, sewing machines, antique dolls, various chinaware, and vintage wedding dresses. The community’s occupational history is also represented through various cooperage implements, forge tools, fishery related items, and artifacts from the communities telegraph office, including several books in which the daily news was hand written. A giant bark pot, and personal mementos of community members who served in the two World Wars are displayed. The Museum also includes a variety of archival documents including school minute books, old diaries, and census records.
Location: Main Road, River Head of Moreton’s Harbour following route 345
Visitors can enjoy an old fashioned Mug-Up in the dining room.