The Sisters’ Dream School Museum offers visitors a glimpse of life from the early 1900s with a unique perspective of the Francophone roots of Mainland (La Grande Terre). Fishermen from France traveled across the waters from Red Island and built the one-room school house in 1910. The school also contained a small altar which served the spiritual needs of the community by travelling priests. Upon construction of a new school, the building was transformed into a Chapel in 1972. When a new chapel was constructed, this historic building was slated for demise. Thanks to a dream of two sisters, Johanna Cornect and Maggie Benoit, and the dedication of their families, a committee was formed to transform the school room into a museum to preserve the area’s culture and heritage.
Community support and dedication prevented this building from demise and it now serves as a focal point of the community, attracting visitors from all over. The Sisters’ Dream School Museum consists of two sections; one depicting a one-room schoolhouse and the second housing artifacts and displays honoring life in the 1900s.
The Sisters’ Dream School Museum is open daily from June to September and by appointment the rest of the year. Admission is $3 for adults, $2 Youth and free for those 12 and under.
Surrounding the Sisters’ Dream School Museum is a picnic area overlooking the picturesque Red Island. A Tea Room and Craft Shop are also located on the grounds.