Historic Sites Association’s Manning Awards

The nomination deadline has been extended to Friday, April 30!

About the Awards

HSA’s Manning Awards were created in 1993 to recognize and celebrate the work of individuals, communities, and organizations in preserving and presenting this province’s history and heritage. They were named in memory of the late Bill Manning, a former Parks Canada Superintendent of NL’s National Historic Sites, who strengthened and expanded the sites in the province with a vision of greater community involvement.

Awards are given in three categories:

Outstanding Heritage Project

Recognizes an outstanding work in the presentation of history and/or heritage, completed between April 1, 2022 and February 1, 2024. Examples include research, public/educational, programming, and/or exhibitions. Projects will be assessed against the following criteria:

  • Innovation (unique/experimental approach)
  • Community involvement/engagement
  • Contribution to public understanding of NL history/heritage
  • Connection to a historic place(s)
  • Relevance
  • Effectiveness
  • Impact (social, economic and/or cultural)

Outstanding Heritage Organization

Recognizes an organization’s long-term impact and leadership in the presentation of NL’s history and/or heritage.

Outstanding Heritage Supporter

Recognizes significant contributions by an individual to NL’s heritage sector throughout the course of their professional and/or volunteer careers.

Nomination Deadline: 11:59 PM, Friday, April 30, 2024

For more information please see: https://www.historicsites.ca/hsa-awards-of-excellence