Explore the history of HM Wireless Station, Mount Pearl’s top-secret First World War naval base! Admiralty house displays artifacts from HM wireless Station, the SS Florizel disaster, and Mount Pearl history. Enjoy our replica 1916 Commanding Officer’s Sitting Room and see how small the Marconi Room was on the Florizel.
Located in Blackhead village, near Cape Spear, is this beautifully restored one room school and church, originally constructed in 1879. The building is a Provincially Designated Heritage Structure. Our friendly guide will show you the school bell that the teacher would ring to summon the children to class and the
The Centre for Newfoundland Studies (CNS) was founded in 1965 by the Memorial University Libraries with the mandate to collect all published materials relating to Newfoundland and Labrador; to offer library services such as a reading room, reference service and reproduction service; to preserve the collection for future generations; and
In 1987 the Crow’s Nest Officer’s Club established the Crow’s Nest Military Artifacts Association Inc., for the purposes of preserving and maintaining custody of its historic and military assets and memorabilia. Since its inception the Artifacts Association has framed, maintained, and photographed the artifacts, as well as performed other functions,
The Family History Society of Newfoundland and Labrador (FHSNL) is a not-for-profit organisation that was established in 1984, incorporated in 1987, and in 2013 became a registered charity. The main objectives of the society are: To help researchers locate and access genealogical information.To foster education and interest in genealogical research
The location of the museum and archives is the HMP Administration Building located just outside the prison walls on Forest Road. Her Majesty’s Penitentiary Museum & Archives contains artifacts and documents dating back to 1838. The museum & archives is not open to the general public but if anyone is