Pilley’s Island Heritage Museum


Pilley’s Island Heritage Society Inc.

Pilley’s Island is a small town with a big history. The mining of pyrite began at Pilley’s Island in 1887. By 1899 Pilley’s Island could boast of having a courthouse for the area, six merchant establishments and a hotel serving not only the town’s population of 700 people, but much of the Western Notre Dame Bay. A collection of artifacts are displayed in the old United Church School and 125-year-old Methodist Church. Lots to see and enjoy.

Pilley’s Island Heritage Society Inc. is a non-profit organization committed to the preservation of historical artifacts of Pilley’s Island.

  • Facebook

Categories: AllCentralChurch History / ReligionCommunity / Regional HistoryHeritage BuildingRegional Listings

Pilley's Island Heritage Museum

21 Harbour View Road
Pilley's Island, Newfoundland and Labrador A0J 1M0 Canada

Get Directions



709 668-0675
709 652-3790

Return to Museum Listings