Jacob A. Crocker House

Jacob A. Crocker House is a two-storey biscuit box style house built circa 1898 and is a representative example of an early twentieth century fisherman’s dwelling in this area and Western Newfoundland in general. The home was built by Jacob A. Crocker, Sr., grandson of George Crocker of Dorsetshire, England,

Continue reading

Jenniex House

A typical salt box style house built in 1926. This was a common style construction for the 1920`s. It is located at Photographers Lookout as you enter Norris Point and has been there since it was donated and moved to this location in 1995 overlooking the beautiful Tableland Mountains. The

Continue reading

Legge Homestead Museum & Gift Shop

Bay St. George South Historical Society The Legge Homestead is a wooden, two-and-one-half storey house in Cartyville, NL. Built circa 1905, it is a rare example of an early twentieth century farmhouse in the Bay St. George region and, indeed, in the entire province.Since it’s designation as a Heritage Structure

Continue reading

Nurse Myra Bennett Heritage House

Known throughout the province as “Florence Nightingale of the North,” Nurse Myra Bennett provided more than 50 years of nursing and medical services along the rugged coastline of the Newfoundland’s Northern Peninsula. The museum is located in the 1922 built two-story traditional house which was home to Nurse Bennett for

Continue reading

Our Lady of Mercy Museum

The museum is located in the Rectory associated with Our Lady of Mercy Church. The church itself was consecrated in 1925. The Aguathuna limestone quarry was expected to develop and serve as the economic base for a small city. As a result, the church is the largest wooden structure in

Continue reading

Railway Heritage Museum

Located in Port aux Basques, the Railway Heritage Museum reflects the voyages that began over 100 years ago and takes a walk back in time to recapture the importance of the railway, fishery and ferry service in Newfoundland’s history. Examples of Channel-Port aux Basques’ long and colourful heritage in the

Continue reading

Railway Society of Newfoundland

The Railway Society of Newfoundland was created in 1987 when Baldwin Steam Locomotive #593, “Newfie Bullet”, was removed from Bowater’s Park to the Historic Train Site at Humbermouth, Newfoundland. The Railway Society of Newfoundland has accumulated the rolling stock, trackage, freight shed and site. Artifacts also include telegraph instruments, train

Continue reading

Rose Blanche Lighthouse

The Rose Blanche Lighthouse is located in scenic Rose Blanche, a 45km drive along Route 470 from Port aux Basques. Built in 1871 from a nearby granite quarry, this lighthouse stands as a proud sentinel of our shores. D and T Stevenson, lighthouse engineers from Edinburgh, Scotland, designed the original

Continue reading

Roy Whelan Regional Heritage Centre and Archives

An impressive facility displaying the history of communities in the Humber Valley. Exhibits on logging, agriculture, transportation and community life in the valley are a must to see. Admission: Free. Donations welcome

Continue reading

Sisters’ Dream School Museum

The Sisters’ Dream School Museum offers visitors a glimpse of life from the early 1900s with a unique perspective of the Francophone roots of Mainland (La Grande Terre). Fishermen from France traveled across the waters from Red Island and built the one-room school house in 1910. The school also contained

Continue reading