The Museum is located in George C. Harris House, designated a heritage structure by the Heritage Foundation of Newfoundland and Labrador. A typical Queen Anne structure, it was built in 1908 by local merchant George Harris. The building received the Manning Award in 1994 and the Southcott Award in 1996.
The Gerald S. Doyle Memorial Museum, operated by the King’s Cove Historical Society Inc., is located in King’s Cove on Route 235 on the Bonavista Peninsula. It is dedicated to preserving and exhibiting the history of historic King’s Cove and area. You are invited to visit other sites such as
The Green Family practiced as blacksmiths in Trinity since before 1750. The death of John Green is recorded in the Church records for 1764. The present smithy was built between 1895 and 1900 and was last in use in 1955. This building is unusual for that era as it is
The Home from The Sea – John C. Crosbie Sealers Interpretation Centre provides visitors with multiple opportunities to learn about and reflect on the history of sealing and sealers, their stories of family and community are vividly brought to life through various artifacts, art and multimedia. Just a short walk
King’s Cove boasts steep cliffs that frame the early fishing station dating from the 1700s. St. John’s merchant James MacBraire established a major fishing station here in the early days. King’s Cove was once known as the “Athens of the North” because of the many famous residents including; Gerald S.
A glimpse into the community’s past. The Lamaline Heritage Museum has eight rooms displaying unique artifacts depicting life in the late 1800s and early 1900s, a model dory collection handcrafted by former Lamaliner/author/songwriter Otto Kelland, World War I and II, Genealogy, the Inshore Fishery and Scientific and Local Data on
The Lawn Museum has local artefacts including items pertaining to the shipwreck disasters of the USS Pullux and USS Truxun as well as displays about the 1929 tidal wave that hit the region. There are also traditional domestic artefacts from the community such as woodstoves, radios, pump organ, spinning wheel,
The complex consists of two structures, one housing an interpretation centre, gift shop, and a tea house which serves traditional Newfoundland cuisine and beverages. The museum itself is housed in a restored house which was constructed in 1911 on Port Elizabeth Island in Placentia Bay and was transported to nearby