Over the Top Museum

The Town of Birchy Bay The residence of the late Peter and Ida Quinlan of Birchy Bay, built in 1916, houses the Over the Top Museum. Birchy Bay was first settled by fishermen from Fogo Island who would winter in the sheltered bays in winter tilts and cut timber from

Continue reading

Peterview Heritage Centre

Heritage Society of Peterview The Peterview Heritage Centre displays artifacts and a pictorial history of Peterview. Ongoing research includes obtaining artifacts from the Beothuck era for display. The Heritage Society of Peterview maintains the Peterview Heritage Center and old Anglican cemetery. Wheelchair accessible.

Continue reading

Pilley’s Island Heritage Museum

Pilley’s Island Heritage Society Inc. Pilley’s Island is a small town with a big history. The mining of pyrite began at Pilley’s Island in 1887. By 1899 Pilley’s Island could boast of having a courthouse for the area, six merchant establishments and a hotel serving not only the town’s population

Continue reading

Point Leamington Heritage Centre

Point Leamington Heritage Council The Centre is located on the bank of Mill River, an excellent salmon river and is adjacent to Rowsell’s Hill Nature Trail. The Centre has a gift shop and a coffee shop, Aunt Ethel’s Kitchen, where you can enjoy a snack during your visit. There is

Continue reading

Red Indian Lake Interpretation Centre

Located in Millertown, nestled on the southeast shore of Red Indian Lake, the Red Indian Lake Interpretation Centre tells the story of the area’s history. This is where the Beothuk Indians once inhabited as their winter encampment. It was here where Demasduit (Mary March) was captured and then later returned

Continue reading

Royal Canadian Legion Branch 12 Museum

Royal Canadian Legion Branch 12 Grand Falls The museum is dedicated to preserving the service of Newfoundlanders who served in both World Wars, the Korean War and peacekeeping missions around the world. Exhibits at the museum include the Royal Newfoundland Regiment from the Beaumont Hamel, France during World War I,

Continue reading

Springdale Heritage Centre

Springdale Heritage Society The purpose of the Springdale Heritage Society is to collect, preserve, and present items pertaining to the historical and cultural heritage of Springdale and the immediate Hall’s Bay area. Although the Society considers accepting small, museum-type items which are of specific local interest, its focus is primarily

Continue reading

Sunny Cottage Heritage Centre

Sunny Cottage Corporation & The Town of Harbour Breton Sunny Cottage is one of the largest Queen Anne Style houses in Newfoundland. It was built in 1907 by local merchant, Mr. John J. Rose. In 1988 Sunny Cottage was recognized as a heritage structure by the Heritage Foundation of Newfoundland

Continue reading

Twillingate Museum & Crafts

Twillingate Museum Association The Twillingate Museum and Crafts is housed in the former Anglican Rectory and depicts life in Twillingate at the turn of the century. Nearby stands St. Peter’s Anglican Church, one of the oldest wooden churches in Newfoundland. Inside the Museum, rooms feature a variety of displays to

Continue reading

United Church

 devastating fire destroyed the first Fogo Methodist Mission’s church and much of Fogo Island in 1875. Within two years, Fogo’s small Methodist community of approximately 140 people rebuilt the church. Its austere appearance shows the modest temperament of the people who donated their efforts and talents into rebuilding their place

Continue reading