Gillams Historical Society The Gillams Historical Society was established in 2008 to collect, record and catalogue historical documents and artifacts from the Town of Gillams and neighbouring communities in the Bay of Islands, NL. Our central goal is to preserve and promote the history of Gillams and communities along the
Beothuk Institute Incorporated The Mission of the Beothuk Institute to create, maintain and enhance public knowledge, understanding and appreciation of the Beothuk People and their prehistoric ancestors, and to initiate, support and/or encourage projects commensurate with this aim. The Beothuk Institute participates in research projects and archaeological digs in search of the
King’s Point Heritage Society Inc. The Dr. Jon Lien Whale Pavilion houses the World’s Largest Humpback Whale Skeleton (50′) with signage and interpretation. The pavilion also features a Clay Mural by the students of Valmont Academy and a number of Marine Artifacts.
King’s Point Heritage Society Inc. King’s Point Heritage House is an historical house, built circa 1903, for Ananias G Yates. It was later donated by the family to the King’s Point Heritage Society and was restored into a heritage museum that displays artifacts depicting early life in the King’s Point
Twillingate Historic Fishing Vessels Inc. Learn the trade of boat building in the heart of Twillingate, an outport fishing community in Central Newfoundland. Step back through time to see how wooden boats were constructed to take on the Atlantic Ocean. Then meet the local resident boat builder and take part
Springdale Heritage Society The purpose of the Springdale Heritage Society is to collect, preserve, and present items pertaining to the historical and cultural heritage of Springdale and the immediate Hall’s Bay area. Although the Society considers accepting small, museum-type items which are of specific local interest, its focus is primarily
Elliott Premises Management Committee The Elliott Premises includes a craft store, theatre, visitor information kiosk, marina, café and Interpretation Centre, which features artifacts and stories of the fishery and Newman’s Port wine. In 2005, Pierce’s Store, an early 1900’s fishing shed, was moved to Elliott Premises by boat and floating
Bay St. George South Historical Society The Legge Homestead is a wooden, two-and-one-half storey house in Cartyville, NL. Built circa 1905, it is a rare example of an early twentieth century farmhouse in the Bay St. George region and, indeed, in the entire province.Since it’s designation as a Heritage Structure
Roman Catholic Episcopal Corporation of Grand Falls The Archives Office of the Roman Catholic Diocese of Grand Falls exists to collect, preserve and make available records of enduring value which pertain to the experience of the Church and its development in this province of Newfoundland and Labrador according to the
Church Lads Brigade (CLB) Located the CLB Armoury on Harvey Road in St. John’s, The William G. Tilley Museum and Archives includes a collection of photos, newspaper articles, uniforms, medals, manuals and letters that document the history of the CLB since its beginning in 1892.