St. Vincent’s Fisherman’s Museum Committee Inc. The Fishermen’s Museum in St. Vincent’s was first was established in 1995 in the restored home of a local fisherman. It is now located in an old convent behind the church on the main road of the community. Throughout all the displays in the
Jackson’s Arm Heritage Society The Stanley Ford Home is a 20th century vernacular, white painted wooden dwelling with a low hip roof. It was constructed in 1947, upon Ford’s return to Jackson’s Arm after serving in the Newfoundland Overseas Forestry Unit during World War II. It has wood windows, doors
Sunny Cottage Committee & The Town of Harbour Breton Sunny Cottage is one of the largest Queen Anne Style houses in Newfoundland. It was built in 1907 by local merchant, Mr. John J. Rose. In 1988 Sunny Cottage was designated a Registered Heritage Structure by the Heritage Foundation of Newfoundland
Gateway Labrador Inc. Exhibits follow the history of early life and the history of mining in Labrador West. The museum features a 360 Virtual tour of IOCC, taxidermy and heritage quilts, along with lots of other marks and artifacts of Labrador West history.
Brigus Historical & Conservation Society Co-located in the beautiful, historic town of Brigus. A single admission fee grants visitors access to both sites. The Olde Stone Barn Museum boasts an impressive collection of artifacts and models which showcase the local history. Visitors will find knowledgeable, friendly staff on site, as
The Newfoundland Pony Society is a charitable organization dedicated to preserving, protecting and promoting the Newfoundland Pony as a distinct heritage animal. The society encourages ethical breeding standards, maintains a registration process, and fosters public awareness of the Pony’s history and its future. The Newfoundland Pony Society registers qualifying Newfoundland
The Rooms Corporation The Rooms is Newfoundland and Labrador’s largest public cultural space and home to its most extensive collection of artifacts, art and archival records. Since it opened in 2005, The Rooms has presented hundreds of exhibitions and more than 1,000 education and public programs, capturing the imagination of
Spaniard’s Bay Heritage Society The Municipality of Spaniard’s Bay Heritage Committee originally formed in 1996 under the chairmanship of Mr. Ed Neil. At that time, the group completed the Johnson Foundation history board project. The board is located at Veteran’s Memorial Park and provides information about the history of Spaniard’s