Drake House Museum

Drake House was constructed in the 1890s in the community of Haystack, Placentia Bay. It was constructed by George Drake and his brother John. Frank Drake, George’s son, inherited the property and lived in the building all his life. “ Frank Drake passed away on Sunday, March 17, 2002, six

Continue reading

Durrell Museum and Crafts

Built with free labour in 1910 as the Training Barracks and Armoury for a prestigious paramilitary organization in Durrell known as the Arm Lads Brigade. The museum is perched on the top of Old Maid Hill overlooking the picturesque town of Durrell. It provides a panoramic view overlooking the ocean

Continue reading

Dwyer Premises

Located in on the eastern side of the harbour in Tilting, you can view the full range of buildings associated with the family-based inshore fishery. The Premises is connected to an island called “The Rock” and consists of a house, store, flakes and a stage and is remarkable in its

Continue reading

Edge of Avalon Interpretation Centre

The edge of avalon Interpretive Centre on Route 10 in Portugal Cove South is the starting point for your explorations at the edge of avalon. Come in to visit us and view a detailed interpretive map of the area, receive directions for hiking trails, and check out the bulletin board

Continue reading

Elliston Root Cellars

Elliston is located on the tip of the Bonavista Peninsula known for whale watching, bird watching and a sandy beach. In 2000, the town of Elliston declared itself the “Root Cellar Capital of the World.” Though efforts of the town and Memorial University of Newfoundland, Elliston has been able to

Continue reading

Experience Fogo Site

View collections of old tools and see how residents grew their own vegetables, raised their livestock, mended their nets, and dried their fish. This parcel of land was once owned by the Slade merchant family, and then by the Earle’s. It was later donated by merchant Henry Earle for the

Continue reading

Family History Society of Newfoundland & Labrador

The Family History Society of Newfoundland and Labrador (FHSNL) is a not-for-profit organisation that was established in 1984, incorporated in 1987, and in 2013 became a registered charity. The main objectives of the society are: To help researchers locate and access genealogical information.To foster education and interest in genealogical research

Continue reading

Fishermen’s Museum and Porter House

he Fishermen’s Museum was started in 1969 by artist George Noseworthy and a group of local residents who saw the need to preserve and promote the local fishing heritage that was so rapidly changing. A few years later, nearby Porter house was acquired and restored. An adjacent one-room schoolhouse, leased

Continue reading

Fishermen’s Museum, Musgrave Harbour

The Fisherman’s Museum located in the Town of Musgrave Harbour was built in 1910 and was originally the first retail store operated by the Fisherman’s Trading Company with Sir William Coaker as president of the Fisherman’s Protective Union. The museum now holds an array of interesting artifacts relating to the

Continue reading

Fishing for Success and Island Rooms

Fishing For Success, Inc. is a nonprofit social enterprise dedicated to living, sharing and celebrating the traditional fishing knowledge and culture that sustained generations of Newfoundlanders & Labradorians. Island Rooms is a historic fishing property in Petty Harbour-Maddox Cove, Newfoundland and Labrador. It is the home of Fishing For Success,

Continue reading