Lane House Museum

The Lane House is the oldest house in Tilting and won the Southcott Award, for excellence in preserving the architectural heritage of Newfoundland and Labrador in 1997. It was built prior to 1836 by Irish cooper Augustin MacNamara (known as “Augie Mac”). Augie Mac came from Ireland with his sister,

Continue reading

Lawn Museum

The Town of Lawn The Lawn Museum has local artefacts including items pertaining to the shipwreck disasters of the USS Pullux and USS Truxun as well as displays about the 1929 tidal wave that hit the region. There are also traditional domestic artefacts from the community such as woodstoves, radios,

Continue reading

Legge Homestead Museum & Gift Shop

Bay St. George South Historical Society The Legge Homestead is a wooden, two-and-one-half storey house in Cartyville, NL. Built circa 1905, it is a rare example of an early twentieth century farmhouse in the Bay St. George region and, indeed, in the entire province.Since it’s designation as a Heritage Structure

Continue reading

Lewis Miller Room Museum

Red Indian Lake Heritage Society Located in Millertown, nestled on the southeast shore of Red Indian Lake, the Lewis Miller Room Museum tells the story of the area’s history. This is where the Beothuk Indians once inhabited as their winter encampment. It was here where Demasduit (Mary March) was captured

Continue reading

Livyer’s Lot Museum

Placentia West Heritage Committee The complex consists of two structures, one housing an interpretation centre, gift shop, and a tea house which serves traditional Newfoundland cuisine and beverages. The museum itself is housed in a restored house which was constructed in 1911 on Port Elizabeth Island in Placentia Bay and

Continue reading

Logy Bay-Middle Cove-Outer Cove Museum

The Logy Bay-Middle Cove-Outer Cove Museum shares the exciting history of the early settlement of the communities of Logy Bay, Middle Cove and Outer Cove. First settled in 1610, and permanently settled in the early 1800’s, this area has a diverse and rich history. Each settlement has its own history,

Continue reading

Long Island Heritage Center

Long Island Heritage Centre Corporation, Town of Lushes Bight-Beaumont-Beaumont North The Long Island Heritage Center site originally housed the Long Island Consumers Co-Operative Store from 1957 to 2002. Co-operative action was introduced in the early 1940’s by Jasper Rideout of Beaumont, Long Island from the Commission of Government. Local fishermen

Continue reading

Lord Strathcona / Net Loft Museum

Rigolet Inuit Community Government The Museum is run by the Rigolet Heritage Society and is located in Rigolet, Labrador. See a display of trade artefacts and information which tells the history of the Hudson’s Bay Company in Rigolet. There is also two reconstructed HBC buildings on site, one is the

Continue reading

Manuels River Hibernia Interpretation Centre

Discover all that Manuels River has to offer! Walking Trails, Exhibit & Fossil Site Tours, Events Centre, Tourist Information, Wedding Venue, Movie Theatre, Cafe, Education Programs & More!

Continue reading

Marconi Wireless Interpretation Centre

Perched high on the hill above the community of Fogo, get a great view of the community and learn about the early communications history of Fogo Island. Built in 1911 at the instigation of the Newfoundland government, the Marconi wireless station on Fogo Island was for many years the only

Continue reading