The Town of Birchy Bay The residence of the late Peter and Ida Quinlan of Birchy Bay, built in 1916, houses the Over the Top Museum. Birchy Bay was first settled by fishermen from Fogo Island who would winter in the sheltered bays in winter tilts and cut timber from
Placentia West Heritage Commitee The Placentia West Development Association’s Heritage House is the perfect midpoint on the Heritage Run. The house is located at the intersection at Baine Harbour, and its a short trip to the scenic community of Rushoon. The House is run by the Placentia West Heritage Committee.
Heritage Society of Peterview The Peterview Heritage Centre displays artifacts and a pictorial history of Peterview. Ongoing research includes obtaining artifacts from the Beothuck era for display. The Heritage Society of Peterview maintains the Peterview Heritage Center and old Anglican cemetery. Wheelchair accessible.
The Town of Petty Harbour/Maddox Cove The Petty Harbour Museum is located in the Town of Petty Harbour/Maddox Cove, just 15 minutes from downtown St. Johns. The museum is situated in the basement of the old school, which is now the Community Center and Town Office. “Many Stories in Tiny
Pilley’s Island Heritage Society Inc. Pilley’s Island is a small town with a big history. The mining of pyrite began at Pilley’s Island in 1887. By 1899 Pilley’s Island could boast of having a courthouse for the area, six merchant establishments and a hotel serving not only the town’s population
Point Leamington Heritage Council The Point Leamington Heritage Centre operates as an arm of the Point Leamington Town Council. The centre consists of two buildings which were moved to its current location, from elsewhere, in the community. One of the buildings has historic significance. It was the home of Aunt
Founded in the spring of 2009 the Pouch Cove Heritage Society is a proud organization in the town that seeks to recognize the events that shaped who we are today and the buildings and sites that show us where we’ve been. Learn about the rescue of the sinking ship, the
Provincial Seamen’s Museum – A Division of The Rooms Permanent Exhibition: Living The Life – Objects of Identity Explore artifacts from the land and sea, used by Newfoundland families from the 1800s to the mid 1900s. The people of Newfoundland have long been industrious and resourceful – making a living
Newfoundland Railway Coastal Museum Foundation Inc. Located at 495 Water Street, St. John’s, Newfoundland, the Railway Coastal is housed in the original refurbished Riverhead Train Station built in 1903. The museum is dedicated to interpreting the history of the Newfoundland railway system from its inception in the late 1880’s to
Southwest Coast Historical Society Located in Port aux Basques, the Railway Heritage Museum reflects the voyages that began over 100 years ago and takes a walk back in time to recapture the importance of the railway, fishery and ferry service in Newfoundland’s history. Examples of Channel-Port aux Basques’ long and